One of the best most adrenaline pumped days of my existence was the time Nikki and I rode our bikes from Carpinteria to Rincon along the train tracks all to find a secret-ish beach.

I often think of my life back in June, when I was worry free and utterly happy due to myself living in a tiny, seaside beach town for a month. I’m not physically there anymore as much as I wish I lived there, Though the town is constantly on my mind. I am now stuck in a tiny 10 by 10ft dorm room wasting my adolescence away constantly thinking of better times in my life and wishing I was somewhere that I’m not.

That sounds sad and I might be a bit dramatic, but not really, I spend my college days going to class, doing homework, thinking about where I will be grabbing lunch and dinner and if I’ll have to eat alone again because my only friend has an evening class today and so on. In a simpler description, my days suck.

Now I try so hard to be positive, and I am, I think I am a genuinely happy person. Or at least Genuinely Content. I like that more. I am content. Content with being alone, content with the choices and decisions I have made as an adult on my own for the first time, and content with life. The truth is, I just miss my summer. Summer of two thousand sixteen was the best one yet, and it feels like I might just be on a low until the next one.

SO, referring back to the intro – and the title: Racing the Train, I want to share one of the many fun days from Carp this summer.

As a graduation present I got to spend a week in my favorite city with one of my best friends alone in a seaside condo. That was an awesome gift let me tell you, I had planned the most fun activities to do for an entire week and I was so excited to be doing all new things while getting to show Nikki around Carpinteria.

The summer before last, my dad, little brother and I found a bike trail that went along the coast, it was up on a cliff but just beneath it was the water, we followed the trail but it got extremely narrow and it freaked my dad out a ton because the trail rides directly along the train tracks and the edge of the cliff. So if a train were to go by at the same time as you were on an extremely narrow section it might just make you fall off the cliff and plunge to your death on the rocky shore break below. (: but hey that’s life. Long explanation short: we did not continue on the bike path.

This summer, on one of the last days Nikki was with me, I took her on this trail. We packed the usual beach picnic stuff and towels and magazines and etc. and headed on the trail, I knew from looking at the trail on maps that it would lead us to a beach, I mean after all, the trail rode along the ocean there had to be a beach somewhere. And thankfully I was right because this bike ride was not easy.

Starting in Carpinteria, the trail starts behind the campground, at the newly built tax-payer paid for park across from the Spot. We got on there, rode through the campgrounds, through the bluff space, behind the driving range, and finally, all that was around us the the cliff and the train tracks. I meant it earlier, that if a train rode by at the same time as a biker was on the extremely narrow part then they would probably fall, unless they were USED to trains passing them out of nowhere and at full speed, then they might not fall but still. Because the path is so narrow at this part the rocks from the train tracks cover the bike path completely, making it difficult to ride a bike over hand sized rocks. At this part, never had coming this way before, It was scary. Nikki was freaked out because she kept thinking she heard a train horn making her think there was one coming up on us, thankfully there wasn’t but it made the ride a lot more cautious. After being on this path for quite a distance, the cliff curved and we could see a huge beach coming up in front of us, the highway 101 was on our left and the ocean and a Beautiful beach on our right, (the train tracks also on our left). Soon there was a path that veered away from the tracks and into a thick overgrowth of almost completely dried out vegetation (thanks california drought) riding through it so many twigs were cutting up my legs but it was finally the last stretch and the beach was near. Almost out of breath from the excessive peddling, we had reached a gate with a small crack just wide enough for us and our bikes to fit through, then we were riding on smooth, soft asphalt! Oh how I had missed the luxurious asphalt!

Finally we only had to ride our bikes down the paved hill, which is a parking lot for the beach, the rode through a small neighborhood with maybe only six houses each well over a few million dollars, then we finally reached Rincon Point. The beach that was our destination all along. Hidden even though the freeway is directly against the beach, there aren’t signs for this beach and you only know its there if you stumble on it by chance.

Once at Rincon Point we took pictures inside the surfer’s hut that was built by a bunch of locals and surfers as a place to chill when not in the water. The beach comes to a point creating massive surfing waves but the tide was low, Nikki and I walked along the point back towards Carpinteria and found a completely private beach, A beach so unknown the sand had no footprints, shells everywhere and the most serene atmosphere. That is where Nikki and I set up our beach spot and laid out to tan and got in the water.

After an hour or so, some surfer boys who were maybe a year or so younger than us, got in the water right in front of us, they were entertaining as hell to watch, and after they left they told us we were beautiful. That was nice. I miss Carpinteria. I miss my summer and I miss the beach.

So Here are some images to enjoy(:
Until next time, Hopefully I’ll have a more recent story to share.

image
The hut built by locals and surfers
Processed with VSCO with c6 preset
Nikki and I looking flyyy
Processed with VSCO with c9 preset
why not take photos in a seaside hut?
